Salmon Row – an open air theatrical presentation of local history

In the last few days, playwright Nicola Harwood had turned my home village Steveston into an open air theater of live performance telling the story of racism that had occurred from the end of the 19th century to the beginning of the notorious Japanese interment in 1942. With 25 performers (4 of them are local Richmond child actors), and professional theatrical equipment, the performance was a big show. The most interesting thing about it is that the performance used the remains of Britannia Shipyard and Phoenix Cannery as props of its scenes, and the audience literally walked with the performers from scene to scene, under open sky. My wife and I attended the final rehearsal and I enjoyed the entire performance. Here are some of the pictures I took of the performance.

 

5 thoughts on “Salmon Row – an open air theatrical presentation of local history

  1. Hi Danny,

    Your photos are fantastic!! My 2 young sons were in the production and you caught a great pose of them in image 7154. I’m so glad that you enjoyed the performance! My kids had so much fun being a part of it. We hope they bring the production back to Steveston again next year. We also live in Steveston and so it was great way for us all to learn more about the history of the community we live in.

    • Oh, they are your kids! They performed very well and I believe they are talented in acting. Yes, I really enjoyed the show and I share your hope of having the show back to Steveston next year. Thanks for stopping by my blog.

    • Yes, there are a few more that have your boys, and I have just now added to this post. I can email them to you if you want (some pictures may be quite “noisy” if blown up big, because the shots were taken in poor lighting condition).

Leave a Reply

