A Hike Towards Black Tusk

My hike started from Cheakamus Lake trailhead near Whistler, through Helm Creek Campground, then off-trail towards Empetrum Peak and ended at mid-level of the peak. The purpose was to explore a better angle to photograph Black Tusk, a landmark peak of Garibaldi Provincial Park. Black Tusk is most often approached from Garibaldi Lake trail in the south and photographed therefrom. I think it looks much more magnificent from the north or northeast. I hoped I did not have to hike alone, but once again no one wanted to join my mountain scrambling. To reduce the distance of the hike, I stopped at a point where I believed my purpose was achieved. That’s why I did not summit Empetrum Peak, which is relatively easy once Helm Creek is crossed.

A few photos taken on the hike (and under bright daylight):

Black Tusk

Garibaldi Lake

Garibaldi Lake

Garibaldi Lake

Garibaldi Lake

Garibaldi Lake

Garibaldi Lake

Garibaldi Lake

 

Leave a Reply

